In this lecture for the first week we explore ways of thinking about what philosophy is. For those of you in the Ethics and Moral Issues course just ignore the references to HUP 101…the basic question -what is philosophy?- is the same for both classes.

About Richard Brown

I am a philosopher at the City University of New York. In particular I am an Associate Professor in the Philosophy Program at LaGuardia Community College. I earned my PhD in Philosophy with a concentration in Cognitive Science from the Graduate Center in 2008.

5 responses »

  1. Lloyd Polglaze says:

    Hi Doc Brown, I am working through your course and enjoying it. It is taxing my brain a little. I trained as an Engineer (in Australia) and knew geometry etc and now retired but Socrates blows my mind.
    Is there a text or sets of notes to go with the course, or could you recommend a text. Regards, Lloyd

  2. Phil Cunningham says:

    Many thanks for you time with this stuff. I find it very interesting and very well delivered. Kind Regards
    PhilC

  3. nannus says:

    I found this through Youtube, not through WordPress. Maybe you should add some tags covering the main topics of each lesson so your course will pop up when searching in WordPress.

  4. Danny says:

    Thank you so much for these videos, Richard. Find them very interesting!

Leave a Reply

